Bug Jewelry

I hate any bug with more than 4 legs. That’s my maximum, 4. For some reason though, I think they make the most incredibly interesting accessories. This instantly reminds me of the ‘Bug in Amber’ nonsense you saw as a kid when you were on a school field trip to a cave in the mountains where you had no desire to be and yet that $20 mom gave you just HAD to be entirely spent in the gift shop because everything was just so COOL! Thankfully, the bug jewelry as of late is much less gross yet I do wish it cost than $20. Pardon the tangent.

I suppose my affinity for bug jewelry not a complete diversion from what I am usually attracted to but it’s still kind of gross. My ring and bracelet collection has been rapidly growing the past year or so and includes a few snakes and salamanders. Fueling my desire for more, I’ve recently discovered the award winning UK-based jewelry designer Alex Monroe who creates four collections per year of the most beautiful specimens, specifically the Bee necklace. Now, if you’re not into creepy crawlies, Alex also has a plethora of adorably different pieces like a bicycle, peapod, cupcake, and watering can necklaces too which are going to be on my next birthday wishlist. Did I mention they’re all handmade? Love this guy!

Alex on the type of person he designs for:

β€˜I like people who like my jewellery. they are not slaves to fashion; they tend to be more concerned about personality and craftsmanship. They care about quality and they like things that are quirky and individual.’

Pieces I have in rotation:

Leave a Reply

