Dark Nail Colors – New Polish Thoughts/Review

Happy Sunday!

I actually hate Sundays… they’re so sad. I mean, I like having the day off but it’s just a slow slippery slide into the new work week. Haha yikes, that sounds quite depressing. Sorry about that.

Ya know what makes me happy though? YOU KNOW THIS ANSWER.

… nail polish, duh. I recently bought a few new nail polishes to add to the collection:

China Glaze Purr-fect PlumL’Oreal Haute Couture RedL’Oreal Sexy in SequinsCover Girl Outlast Black DiamondSally Hansen Big Matte TopcoatEssie Apricot Cuticle Oil

First up: China Glaze’s Purr-fect Plum. This color goes on smooth and looks opaque. I realized I didn’t have a plum shade so picked out this one and am very happy with it. The only thing I don’t like is the brush – it’s a thin little brush which I wish all nail polish companies would realize is so outdated and difficult to work with. I currently have this color on my toes and it looks wonderful.

I also bought 2 L’Oreal polishes, Haute Couture Red and Sexy in Sequins, from the Gold Dust collection. The Haute Couture Red is absolutely gorgeous and dark. I feel like I will wear this classic blood red shade forever. The Sexy in Sequins is a nice formula and I love the glitter but it has that strange rough texture that not even a thick top coat like Seche Vite could smooth out. I have a weird thing with textured nail polishes so this one is definitely not a favorite even though the color is very glittery, dark and pretty.

Next up, Cover Girl Outlast in Black Diamond. I had wanted to buy a new black nail polish as all of mine were either streaky (OPI Nicole’s black shade) or thick (old Urban Outfitters noir polish). It was between Essie Licorice or Cover Girl Black Diamond. I always loved the formula of Cover Girl Outlast polishes though so I gave this one a shot. It’s fantastic. One coat isn’t exactly enough but it could be if you wanted it to. It was super shiny although I topped it with the Sally Hansen Big Matte Topcoat. I love the matte finish and it seems to be holding up perfectly, without chips at all (I’ve tried it twice now). I’m very tempted to try the regular topcoat and see how that compares to others like Seche Vite and Sally Hansen Hard as Nails Diamond Strength topcoat. Actually… I will probably buy it later today.

Lastly… I bought the cuticle oil by Essie after realizing this winter that my hands are in dire need of help. Both I and my bf have been using this oil for about a week now. It’s really nice and does smell apricot-y if you put your nose to it but it’s not perfumey or scented otherwise. It seems to be helping so far, so yay!

Here’s some photos of the bottles of nail polish and a few manis with the products mentioned:

IMG_1960

China Glaze Purr-fect Plum

IMG_1951

L’Oreal Haute Couture Red

IMG_1953

L’Oreal Sexy in Sequins

IMG_1956

Cover Girl Outlast Black Diamond

IMG_1963

Sally Hansen Big Matte Topcoat

IMG_1958

Essie Apricot Cuticle Oil

7a73cb788f7c11e3be9f129fc51c6e5a_8

L’Oreal Sexy in Sequins + Seche Vite Topcoat

b4c2c78c919511e3b9ce0e5567fabcc7_8

Manicure using CG Black Diamond + SH Big Matte Topcoat

Leave a Reply

