Brand OCD: Tarte

I’ve liked Tarte products for a number of years. After many months of BB, CC, CC+, -12%, wait… lets just say I’ve had my fill of fancy tinted moisturizers. I wanted to give another mineral foundation a try since my skin is oily and seems to do well with those types of products. I heard Arden (arose186 on YT) talk about how much she loves the Tarte Amazonian Clay Full Coverage Airbrush Foundation so I zeroed in on my next target. I settled on the lightest shade (fair honey) which has peach undertones. I thought I could get to work for my skin but it’s very sadly a little dark for me still. Once I get a bit more color during the summer I think it will work perfectly.

IMG_2028

The formula is definitely full coverage which surprised me. It doesn’t feel heavy on the skin though. I apply it using the Tarte Airbuki Bamboo Powder Foundation Brush. It’s so dense, stubby and ermegerrd cute; it feels nice in the hand while working the product into your skin. I guess I didn’t need this brush but I really wanted to try the foundation with a super dense kabuki and it matched. So. You know how that goes.

IMG_2030

The wear of the foundation is pretty good. I still need to try it in the warmer summer months (a true test on my skin).  Overall, I’d give this product a 7.9/10.

 

I purchased the Tarte Maracuja C-Brighter Eye Treatment. I needed a new eye cream and heard good things about this one. I really am always looking for a good preventative eye cream and one that brightens a bit. I remember loving a Vitamin-C product I got from Whole Foods a number of years back so I figured this one would fit my needs nicely, as the name suggests it’s vit-c infused. I also love love love that Tarte is paraben, sulfate and phthalate -free. That’s like, half it’s selling point in my opinion.

IMG_2029

The eye cream feels fresh, gentle, absorbs quickly and nicely into the skin. It’s thick enough so you feel like it’s definitely hydrating, doesn’t feel silicon-y and doesn’t burn my eyes/eye area. I’ve been using it nightly for about a month and just started using it in the day as well. I’ve never been the type to wear day eye cream but thought it might be a good habit to start forming. So far, I love it. I read some reviews on Sephora’s website that were glowing and then some that said they didn’t feel like this product did anything for their eyes. I guess I will wait to go through it to determine which side of the fence I finally fall on.

What’s your favorite Tarte product? I’m looking into trying the Lights Camera Lashes mascara possibly next!

Leave a Reply

